Final Page Flipped: Julie & Julia

Hello, and welcome to my book review segment, Final Page Flipped 🙂

This week I finished Julie & Julia by Julie Powell, the book that went on to become the movie with Meryl Streep and Amy Adams.

I’m a big fan of book movies and in this case I didn’t know it was a book until the end credits of the movie. I was browsing the ‘Books in Film’ shelf in a country town op shop over the New Years break and happened to find this one. At $3 what did I have to lose?

I enjoyed the book, but I don’t think I’m a very harsh critic 😛
I love to cook so I found most of the cooking anecdotes relatable, even if the ingredients were way out of the ordinary for me (e.g. brain, kidney, aspic). My cooking is mostly clean so reading about the enormous amounts of butter and vermouth used in French cooking was certainly a shock.

What I disliked when reading was that I wasn’t sure how much of the story really happened or was made up; the author mentions in the foreword that she did make up some events.
Aside from that, I also found it getting a little repetitive.

Verdict: Whilst I did enjoy the read, I wouldn’t recommend it. The movie does a great job of telling the story.

Next on the read list: Fevre Dream by George R.R. Martin

 

Do you have a favourite movie book?

 

Leave a Reply

