Sewing a dirndl for Schützenfest: Part One

Hello again! I’ve got another sewing project to share with you 🙂
This time I’ll be blogging the whole process so you can follow along too 🙂

Schützenfest is a German festival held in Adelaide every January, and one of my favourite local events. It’s such a fun atmosphere to hang out and enjoy drinking cider and eating delicious kranskies 😀
I’ve been just about every year since turning 18, but last year was the first year I wore something a little dressed up:

Appropriately dressed and off to Schutzenfest 🍻

A post shared by @sara_penny on

Guten Tag!

While we were there I took special notice of all the girls (and guys) dressed traditionally and told myself that next this year I’d really make an effort!

As always, Pinterest is a great source of inspiration. I decided it wouldn’t be too hard to make a very basic dirndl and apron for myself, drawing inspiration from these:


https://www.pinterest.com/pin/37084396909621267/

After a long visit at Spotlight picking over the bargain bin, I came home with this fabric (at the bargain price of $3 a metre) for the dress:

 

dirndl_fabric

It’s blue like my inspo pics and it seemed folksy to me 😛

Annika Victoria makes super helpful sewing tutorials and I already had a pattern piece from her Skater Dress tutorial to use for my dirndl bodice. The shape would be the same but instead of a zip at the back, I’ll do a zip at the front which will get covered with the lace up detail.

cropped_pattern

I made the pattern piece about a year ago, so I updated my measurements and set to work cutting out pieces as detailed in her video.

20160114_194557_rsz

One cut on the fold for the back piece, then another two for the front pieces.

Once I had my pieces cut out I did a quick basting stitch on the seams so I could try it on for size.

20160114_195924_rsz

Oh dear. Oh very dear!

The front doesn’t join together! D:
Reviewing my measurements I realised I hadn’t added the +2 inches to my waist measurement. D’oh.
Luckily I bought 3 metres of the fabric so I cut another two front pieces with the allowance.

20160114_200412_rsz

This time when I tried it on the middle actually did up!

20160114_201256_rsz

Hooray!!

That’s my progress so far. There’s only two weeks until Schützenfest so it’s a tight schedule! Next up I’ll get the bodice lined and then start work on the skirt. I’ll bring more progress posts as I go. Wish me luck!

One thought on “Sewing a dirndl for Schützenfest: Part One

Leave a Reply

