Final Page Flipped: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-TimeThe Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Goodreads blurb:

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time is a murder mystery novel like no other. The detective, and narrator, is Christopher Boone. Christopher is fifteen and has Asperger’s Syndrome. He knows a very great deal about maths and very little about human beings. He loves lists, patterns and the truth. He hates the colours yellow and brown and being touched. He has never gone further than the end of the road on his own, but when he finds a neighbour’s dog murdered he sets out on a terrifying journey which will turn his whole world upside down.

I highly recommend this quick and very compelling read πŸ™‚

Although I don’t have any experience with Asperger syndrome, I found the narrator Christopher to be very realistic. I almost feel like I read a true story, his character seemed so genuine. All he accomplished in the book was so heart-warming.
I found Christophers’ behaviour traits to be very interesting; he dislikes the colours yellow and brown and I had never considered just how many challenges that would present, particularly with food. His mind is described as working so logically, especially with idioms and sarcasm, which I found intriguing because it reminds me of the issues with computer deep learning.

I thought Christophers’ father was such an excellent parent, given the circumstances. Okay, besides the two big reveals (one was horrifying and one I could understand his reasoning). It was really heartbreaking to read how quickly he lost his son’s trust.

This book made it’s way to my want-to-read list when it appeared on a list of books that had been banned at some point. I’m really glad I read it as I feel it’s opened my mind to a topic (development disorders) I hadn’t previously had much exposure to.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

