Final Page Flipped:Good as Gone by Amy Gentry

Good as GoneGood as Gone by Amy Gentry

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Goodreads blurb:

Thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night, witnessed only by her younger sister. Her family was shattered, but managed to stick together, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night: the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. The family is ecstaticโ€”but Anna, Julieโ€™s mother, has whispers of doubts. She hates to face them. She cannot avoid them. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she begins a torturous search for the truth about the woman she desperately hopes is her daughter.

I can’t tell if mystery/thrillers are super popular at the moment, or I’m just noticing them more since reading Girl on the Train. Either way, I knew immediately that I wanted to read this one and was glad it was voted in for the Bibliophile Babes bookclub this month.
(Psst there’s still time to read this one and join us for the discussion :P)

It’s hard to give a review without spoilers so I’ll keep it vague. Whilst I had some theories during the book I wasn’t able to guess the ending. Reading the Julie parts were horrifying and yet I couldn’t wait to get to her parts and find out more. Although it is a work of fiction, I couldn’t help but feel awful for the things Julie experienced. The other characters I didn’t care too much for, they just didn’t really hit the mark.

Some of the story reminded me of another book, Butterfly which is inescapably erotica but does have this amazing mystery throughout revolving around a young girl. I’ve never felt comfortable recommending that book to my friends but I figure it’s fine here ๐Ÿ˜›

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

