Final Page Flipped: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night CircusThe Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Goodreads blurb:

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it, no paper notices plastered on lampposts and billboards. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.

Within these nocturnal black-and-white striped tents awaits an utterly unique, a feast for the senses, where one can get lost in a maze of clouds, meander through a lush garden made of ice, stare in wonderment as the tattooed contortionist folds herself into a small glass box, and become deliciously tipsy from the scents of caramel and cinnamon that waft through the air.

Welcome to Le Cirque des RΓͺves.

Beyond the smoke and mirrors, however, a fierce competition is under way–a contest between two young illusionists, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood to compete in a “game” to which they have been irrevocably bound by their mercurial masters. Unbeknownst to the players, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will.

Can I give this more than 5 stars? πŸ˜›

This was my second read of The Night Circus after discovering it last year. I loved it even more because I, of course, picked up little details I missed the first time around. Also knowing how it pans out let me read into each interaction a little more.
And the ending still made me cry but in a nice way.

I love this book too much to give a critical review; I really can’t say a bad thing about it. I honestly feel that not a single conversation or paragraph is unnecessary nor out of place. I agree with all the characters motivations and actions throughout. Each page just fills my heart and makes me happy in a way few other books ever have.

All I can say is if you haven’t read this book yet, find a way. You’ll fall in love with the beautiful Les Cirque des Reves and spend the rest of your life wishing that in your town it would arrive without warning πŸ˜‰

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

