Final Page Flipped: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows (Six of Crows, #1)Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Goodreads blurb:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Without a doubt five stars!
This ended up being the only (fiction) book I got this Christmas and once again I can’t believe I waited so long to read such a rated series.
The copy I have has the review “a twisty and elegantly crafted masterpiece” on the cover and that’s honestly what I kept thinking the whole read. There was twist after twist and each one was so unpredictable, but so well thought out and expertly pulled off.

The world building is so lovely. I really enjoyed the Victorian London feel of Ketterdam and then the incredible contrast of icy Fjerda. The vivid details had me completely immersed in the story and very much in love with all the characters. Inej and her many pious quotes would have to be my favourite character.

I loved the magic elements in this world, which come from the author’s previous trilogy that I guess I need to read now too. I really like worlds where only a small population has abilities (e.g. Red Queen) and are often met with hostility (e.g. X-Men).

I would have Crooked Kingdom in my hands already if I wasn’t on a self imposed book buying ban (read five, buy one). But the ban doesn’t cover fan art, so hello Etsy 😛

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

