Final Page Flipped: Don’t Stay Up Late by R.L. Stine

Don't Stay Up Late: A Fear Street NovelDon’t Stay Up Late: A Fear Street Novel by R.L. Stine

My rating: 1 of 5 stars – but truthfully it’d be zero stars

Goodreads blurb:

Ever since a car accident killed her father and put Lisa and her mother into the hospital, Lisa can’t think straight. She’s plagued by nightmares and hallucinations that force her to relive the accident over and over again in vivid detail. When Lisa finds out that a neighbour is looking for a babysitter for her young son, she takes the job immediately, eager to keep busy and shake these disturbing images from her head. But what promised to be an easy gig turns terrifying when Lisa begins to question exactly who – or what – she is babysitting.

I can’t recall hating a book so thoroughly in my life. Which is a disappointment as the Goosebumps books are largely what sparked my passion for reading. As annoyed as I am, I don’t want to have a huge rant about it so here are a few reasons why I disliked it *contains spoilers*

– The narrator Lisa is very one dimensional. We never hear anything about her except for what is happening in the present moment. Throughout the book, she only misses her recently deceased father twice, and only really in passing.
– The pop culture references came off as just trying too hard. As did all the conversation; it never felt genuine and only served to move the story forward.
– Her babysitting job is ridiculous; this frustrated me more than anything. She is terrified of the job but can’t quit because her family needs the money. So why couldn’t her mom have taken the job then? It just seemed so illogical to me. I don’t know much about leave in the US but surely her mom had some sick leave? Surely they weren’t that hard up for cash?
– The writing style was just plain awful. One of the descriptions was actually “It was a tall building surrounded by tall trees”. Really? Couldn’t you think of any other adjective for trees?

Okay, so despite my intentions this has become a bit of a rant. I needed to express my disappointment that I thought I was going to get a ‘Goosebumps for adults’ series and ended up with a story that would have failed a high school English submission. I almost feel bad about donating my copy, it was that bad.

View all my reviews

 

My 5th book for All The Short Ones Readathon 😀
Which means I’m halfway through my list!
I also read The Metamorphosis and Animal Farm but as they were so short I didn’t have much to say about them

Leave a Reply

